Not-for-Profit, Award-Winning Community News and Views for Windham County, Vermont • Since 2006
Photo 1

Courtesy photo

An untitled drawing by Katy Friesen, a 10th-grader at Brattleboro Union High School. She is a Gold Key winner in the Drawing & Illustration category.

The Arts

Vermont teens recognized for excellence in art, writing

BRATTLEBORO—The Brattleboro Museum & Art Center recently announced that 143 teenagers from across Vermont have been recognized by the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards for their exceptional artistic and literary talent.

Their award-winning artwork and writing will be exhibited at the museum from Feb. 18 to March 5, culminating in an awards ceremony on Sunday, March 5, at noon. The awards ceremony is free and open to the public. Roberto Lugo, professor of ceramics at Marlboro College, will deliver a keynote address.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards is a prestigious national recognition program for aspiring visual artists and writers.

Each year, students in grades 7-12 are invited to submit art and writing in dozens of categories, including ceramics, digital art, painting, photography, poetry, science fiction, personal essay/memoir, and more. Submissions are judged on a statewide level, and then some are considered for national awards, including college scholarships, museum exhibitions, and publication opportunities.

Statewide awards consist of Gold Key, Silver Key, and Honorable Mention. This year’s Gold Key winners from Windham County are: Madelin Aho (Grade 8, The Grammar School, Putney), Jordan Baldwin (Grade 12, Brattleboro Union High School), Madden Beard Sullivan (Grade 11, Brattleboro Union High School), Kira Boucher (Grade 12, Brattleboro Union High School), Jahyde Bullard (Grade 12, Vermont Academy), Freesia Capy Goldfarb (Grade 12, Brattleboro Union High School), Taylor Chamberlin (Grade 10, Brattleboro Union High School), Luke Cuerdon (Grade 11, Putney School), Katy Friesen (Grade 10, Brattleboro Union High School), Eva Gondelman (Grade 10, Putney School), Fiona Goodman (Grade 8, Brattleboro Area Middle School), Henry Hochschild (Grade 12, Vermont Academy), Olivia Howe (Grade 11, Brattleboro Union High School), Logan Johnson (Grade 12, Brattleboro Union High School), Caitlyn McDermott (Grade 11, Vermont Academy), Sydney Miller (Grade 11, Putney School), Francis (Mackey) O’Keefe (Grade 12, Vermont Academy), Olaf Saaf (Grade 12, Putney School), Zoe Schemm (Grade 11, Bellows Falls Union High School), Lila Shaw (Grade 12, Compass School), and Eliza Strauss Jenkins (Grade 11, Putney School).

A list of all Vermont award winners appears at National awards will be announced by the end of March.

Like what we do? Help us keep doing it!

We rely on the donations and financial support of our readers to help make The Commons available to all. Please join us today.

What do you think? Leave us a comment

Editor’s note: Our terms of service require you to use your real names. We will remove anonymous or pseudonymous comments that come to our attention. We rely on our readers’ personal integrity to stand behind what they say; please do not write anything to someone that you wouldn’t say to his or her face without your needing to wear a ski mask while saying it. Thanks for doing your part to make your responses forceful, thoughtful, provocative, and civil. We also consider your comments for the letters column in the print newspaper.


We are currently reconfiguring our comments software. Please check back if you’d like to read or leave comments on this story. —The editors

Originally published in The Commons issue #394 (Wednesday, February 8, 2017). This story appeared on page B1.

Share this story


Related stories