$(document).ready(function() { $(window).scroll(function() { if ($('body').height() <= ($(window).height() + $(window).scrollTop()+500)) { $('#upnext').css('display','block'); }else { $('#upnext').css('display','none'); } }); });
Not-for-Profit, Award-Winning Community News and Views for Windham County, Vermont • Since 2006
Photo 1

Gartenstein, DeGray won’t seek re-election to Selectboard

Schoales plans another run

BRATTLEBORO—The municipal election season in Brattleboro began with a surprise at the Jan. 3 Selectboard meeting when Board Chair David Gartenstein announced he wouldn’t seek re-election.

“After six years of serving, I’m not standing for re-election,” he said at the meeting.

Gartenstein encouraged people to take out petitions for his one-year seat on the board, “I hope to see a spirited race for that spot,” he said.

Selectboard member Dick DeGray will also not seek re-election for the other one-year seat. DeGray made the announcement at the board’s Jan. 10 meeting.

The three-year seat now held by Selectboard member David Schoales is also on the ballot for the March 7 town election. Schoales, who is also up for re-election for a three-year seat on the Town School Board, told The Commons he is again running for both positions.

Town elections will be on Tuesday, March 7, and the Annual Representative Town Meeting takes place on Saturday, March 25. The Brattleboro Union High School District #6 meeting is set for Tuesday, Feb. 14.

Two one-year seats on Town School Board now held by Todd Roach and Mark Truhan are on the ballot, as are two three-year seats on the BUHS Board now held by Ian Torrey and Russ Janis.

Petitions for Brattleboro Town and Town School District Officers and Town Meeting Members are now available at the Town Clerk’s office.

According to Town Clerk Hilary Francis, petitions for Town Officers must contain at least 30 valid signatures of registered Brattleboro voters and be filed in the clerk’s office no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 30, in order to have a name placed on the ballot.

Candidates for Town Meeting Member must file a nomination petition with at least 10 valid signatures of voters from the district where the candidate lives. Petitions of new candidates must be filed no later than 5 p.m. on Jan. 30.

Incumbents for Town Meeting Member must return their Notice of Intent form no later than 5 p.m. on Jan. 30.

The last day to file a petition to put an article on the Town Meeting warrant is Thursday, Jan. 19, at 5 p.m. Approximately 425 signatures, or 5 percent, of registered Brattleboro voters are required.

Early ballots for the town election will be available at the Town Clerk’s office on Feb. 15. The deadline to request an early ballot is Monday, March 6, at 5 p.m.

Like what we do? Help us keep doing it!

We rely on the donations and financial support of our readers to help make The Commons available to all. Please join us today.

What do you think? Leave us a comment

Editor’s note: Our terms of service require you to use your real names. We will remove anonymous or pseudonymous comments that come to our attention. We rely on our readers’ personal integrity to stand behind what they say; please do not write anything to someone that you wouldn’t say to his or her face without your needing to wear a ski mask while saying it. Thanks for doing your part to make your responses forceful, thoughtful, provocative, and civil. We also consider your comments for the letters column in the print newspaper.


We are currently reconfiguring our comments software. Please check back if you’d like to read or leave comments on this story. —The editors

Originally published in The Commons issue #390 (Wednesday, January 11, 2017). This story appeared on page A1.

Share this story


Related stories

More by Randolph T. Holhut and Jeff Potter