Not-for-Profit, Award-Winning Community News and Views for Windham County, Vermont • Since 2006
Photo 1

Courtesy photo

The cover of Jesse Haas’s new novel, “The Hungry Place.”

The Arts

Haas to discuss new horse novel remotely via local bookstore

The Hungry Place, published by Boyds Mills Press, was released Oct. 13. The publisher describes it as a children’s middle-grade (8–12) action and adventure book. For more information, visit bit.ly/583_haas.

BELLOWS FALLS—Westminster West resident Jessie Haas will virtually visit Village Square Booksellers on Saturday, Oct. 17, at 11 a.m., to discuss her newest horse novel The Hungry Place.

In this horse adventure — described in a news release as “perfect for fans of Black Beauty” — a Connemara pony, is pampered and beloved, then abused and neglected, until a 12-year-old girl brings love to her again.

The pony, Princess, lives a charmed life of brown sugar cubes, crunchy apples, sweet grass, and adoration. But it is a lonely life; her elderly owner keeps Princess separate from other ponies so his show-ring champion will remain pristine.

When Princess’s owner has a stroke, she is thrust into the care of an unscrupulous trainer and his wife, who steal from the farm and leave. Abandoned to starve with other, tougher ponies, Princess is bereft of all hope. Meanwhile, a girl named Rae wants a pony more than anything and is striving to make her unrealistic dream a reality.

Rae and Princess need each other, though neither realizes this when they eventually meet. Rae must learn to see beyond Princess’s scars, and Princess must learn to trust again in order for them both to find their own hidden strengths and a home in each other.

Jessie Haas has written more than 35 books, most of them about horses. Her novels include Rescue, a Junior Library Guild selection; Shaper, which won a Golden Kite Honor Award, and Unbroken, which was a Publishers Weekly Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, and a CCBC Choice, among other honors.

To attend the discussion, call 802-463-9404 for book and Zoom event reservations. (Email will be required.) This event is co-sponsored by the Rockingham Free Public Library and the Friends of the Library.

Like what we do? Help us keep doing it!

We rely on the donations and financial support of our readers to help make The Commons available to all. Please join us today.

What do you think? Leave us a comment

Editor’s note: Our terms of service require you to use your real names. We will remove anonymous or pseudonymous comments that come to our attention. We rely on our readers’ personal integrity to stand behind what they say; please do not write anything to someone that you wouldn’t say to his or her face without your needing to wear a ski mask while saying it. Thanks for doing your part to make your responses forceful, thoughtful, provocative, and civil. We also consider your comments for the letters column in the print newspaper.

Comments

We are currently reconfiguring our comments software. Please check back if you’d like to read or leave comments on this story. —The editors

Originally published in The Commons issue #583 (Wednesday, October 14, 2020). This story appeared on page A7.

Share this story

Links

0

Related stories