Nonprofit, Award-Winning Community News and Views for Windham County, Vermont • Since 2006

Field now set for party primaries

Most Windham County incumbents seek re-election; GOP puts up candidates in four House races

BRATTLEBORO—The May 26 filing deadline has passed and the field are now set for the Aug. 9 Democratic and Republican party primaries in Vermont.

The most noticeable thing that voters are seeing is how many members of the Vermont Legislature are not seeking re-election in 2022.

In all, 10 of Vermont’s 30 senators and 41 of 150 members of the House taking a pass on seeking another term.

Reps. John Gannon, D-Wilmington, Carolyn Partridge, D-Windham, and Sen. Jeanette White, D-Windham, are all stepping down. So is Senate President Pro Tem Becca Balint, D-Windham, who is running for Congress. Chairs of nine of the House’s 14 standing committees, including longtime agriculture committee chair Partridge, are leaving their posts.

However, most of the House districts in Windham County will see continuity.

Brattleboro’s three current House members — Mollie Burke, Emilie Kornheiser, and Tristan Toleno — have all announced they are seeking re-election in their respective districts. All are unopposed, and have no Republican challengers.

Sara Coffey, D-Guilford, will run for another term to represent Guilford and Vernon in Windham-1. She is unopposed in the Democratic primary, as is Nancy Gassett of Vernon in the Republican primary.

Mike Mrowicki is going for another term in his reconfigured Windham-4 district, which now contains just Putney and Dummerston. He is unopposed in the Democratic primary. Lynn Kuralt of Dummerston is running unopposed in the Republican primary.

His former district colleague, Michelle Bos-Lun, D-Westminster, saw her town added to the new two-seat Windham-3 district, which also includes Rockingham and Brookline.

She will be seeking a second term in the House, along with Leslie Goldman of Rockingham, on the Democratic side. Tyler Austin and Bonnie DePino, both of Westminster, are running for the Republican nomination.

Emily Long, D-Newfane, is unopposed in the Windham-5 Democratic primary, and no Republican candidates are running against the incumbent.

Tristan Roberts of Halifax is running as a Democrat for the Windham-6 seat being vacated by Gannon. John Lyddy of Whitingham is running for the Republican nomination.

Heather Chase of Chester is running unopposed as a Democrat in the new Windsor-Windham district that encompasses many the towns once represented by Partridge. No Republican candidates are running.

Independent incumbent Laura Sibilia of Dover will seek re-election for a fifth term in the House in the general election, representing the newly created Windham-2 seat that contains the towns of Dover, Jamaica, Somerset, Stratton, and Wardsboro. She is running unopposed.

Independent incumbent Kelly Pajala of Londonderry is also running unopposed in the Windham-Bennington-Windsor district (Weston, Londonderry, and Winhall).

And, with the retirement of White of Putney and Balint’s decision to run for Congress, Windham County will have two new senators in next biennium.

The primary field in both parties are crowded with Wichie Artu of Athens, Nader Hashim of Dummerston, and Wendy Harrison of Brattleboro running on the Democratic side and Rick Kenyon of Brattleboro, Mark Coester of Westminster, and Rick Morton of Brattleboro running on the Republican side.

Tim Wessel of Brattleboro is running in the general election as an independent.

Like what we do? Help us keep doing it!

We rely on the donations and financial support of our readers to help make The Commons available to all. Please join us today.

Originally published in The Commons issue #666 (Wednesday, June 1, 2022). This story appeared on page A3.

Share this story



Related stories

More by Randolph T. Holhut