Not-for-Profit, Award-Winning Community News and Views for Windham County, Vermont • Since 2006

New Selectboard sets committee assignments

BRATTLEBORO—The new Selectboard picked committee assignments at its first full meeting in the Municipal Center on April 2.

“My goal in chairing these [Selectboard] meetings is to make sure everyone has an opportunity to speak fully,” said Selectboard chair David Gartenstein.

Board duties call for members to serve on various town committees.

Gartenstein will continue serving on the Traffic Safety Committee, which oversees parking issues, parking meters, traffic ordinances, and traffic safety.

Newly elected members Kate O’Connor and David Schoales will serve on the Capital Grant Review Board. This committee reviews capital purchases that will be bought with grant funding.

Schoales will also serve on the Small Business Assistance Program committee, which awards loans to local businesses.

John Allen, who served as board member four years ago, will sit on the Police-Fire Oversight Committee, providing oversight of the $14.1 million facilities upgrade project. He will continue serving on the Wastewater Treatment Plant Upgrade Oversight committee which has overseen the $32 million upgrade to the town’s wastewater treatment plant.

Although the town cut the ribbon (actually toilet paper) on the treatment plant at the end of March, the committee will continue overseeing upgrades to the Spring Tree and Black Mountain pump stations.

According to Public Works Director Steve Barrett’s report in the 2012 Annual Town Report, upgrades to the Spring Tree Wastewater Pump Station are ongoing and slated to wrap up in July. The department is expecting the final engineering report on the cost feasibility of eliminating the Black Mountain Pump Station and replacing it with a new gravity sewer main.

Ken Schneck will continue serving on the Rental Housing Improvement Program Loan Committee.

Town representation to the Windham Regional Commission (WRC) this year goes to O’Connor and Planning Director Rod Francis.

Town Manager Barbara Sondag asked the Selectboard to give the town’s second seat, traditionally held by a board member, to Francis.

The issues covered by the WRC will require more planning expertise, she said.

In an email to board members, former Selectboard member Dora Bouboulis requested to continue serving as town representative to the WRC. Gartenstein ruled that a board member could nominate Bouboulis and the board would vote on assigning her a place. Schneck nominated and voted for Bouboulis, one to zero.

The board will hold a meeting to set goals on April 11 at 5:30 p.m. in the Selectboard Meeting Room in the Municipal Center.

Like what we do? Help us keep doing it!

We rely on the donations and financial support of our readers to help make The Commons available to all. Please join us today.

What do you think? Leave us a comment

Editor’s note: Our terms of service require you to use your real names. We will remove anonymous or pseudonymous comments that come to our attention. We rely on our readers’ personal integrity to stand behind what they say; please do not write anything to someone that you wouldn’t say to his or her face without your needing to wear a ski mask while saying it. Thanks for doing your part to make your responses forceful, thoughtful, provocative, and civil. We also consider your comments for the letters column in the print newspaper.


We are currently reconfiguring our comments software. Please check back if you’d like to read or leave comments on this story. —The editors

Originally published in The Commons issue #198 (Wednesday, April 10, 2013).

Related stories

More by Olga Peters