No contested races in Brattleboro for annual town election

Town Meeting short on members

BRATTLEBORO — Ahead of townwide elections in March, Brattleboro's candidate races won't be races at all.

According to information from Town Clerk Annette Cappy, incumbents were the only people who filed candidate petitions by the Monday, Jan. 26 deadline.

Write-in candidates would be the only surprise for elections in March.

Sitting Selectboard member John Allen submitted his petition for a three-year term. Chair David Gartenstein and fellow board member Donna Macomber filed for one-year terms. Board members Kate O'Connor and David Schoales, serving three-year terms, are not up for re-election.

Incumbent Town School Board members Kim Price (three-year term) and Mark Truhan (one-year term) are running again. Board member Todd Roach, who was appointed to the board to fill the seat recently vacated by Peter Yost, has filed a petition for a one-year term.

On the Brattleboro Union High School Board, incumbents Lori Cartwright and Ricky Davidson filed petitions for three-year terms.

According to Cappy, Representative Town Meeting is short on members. District 1 needs to fill 16 seats. District 2 still needs five members. District 3 must still fill four slots.

Brattleboro residents interested in serving as a Town Meeting member can attend the districts' caucuses, which are held during the first informational meeting in March.

Subscribe to the newsletter for weekly updates