The Commons

The first issue of The Commons was published in 2006. The newspaper was published monthly until 2010, when it began a weekly schedule, publishing on Wednesdays 51 times a year. Vermont Independent Media/The Commons was one of the very first newspapers in the country to be recognized by the IRS as a 501c3 non-profit.

The Commons gives voice to our region’s residents, with an emphasis on diversity, equity, and inclusion. Our award-winning “Voices” section is a meeting place for discussion and debate with regular contributions from community members across demographics. In doing so, The Commons models a democratic process for discussing community issues and engaging in discourse across perspectives.  

The newspaper is free, supported by readers through tax-deductible donations, through advertising support, and through the support of charitable foundations. 

The Commons can be found at 250 drop sites throughout Windham County , as well as in neighboring towns in Windsor County (Vt.), Cheshire County (N.H.) and Franklin County (Mass.). It is also available online, through direct-to-person delivery via email, and home delivery.

Meet Our Award-Winning Editorial Team

Jeff Potter, Editor-in-Chief
Randolph T. Holhut, News Editor
Heather Taylor, Copy Editor
Elizabeth Julia Stoumen, Calendar

Contributing Writers/Newsroom
Fran Lynggaard Hansen
Joyce Marcel
Virginia Ray
Robert F. Smith
Ellen Pratt
Victoria Chertok
Annie Landenberger
Dot Grover-Read
Rolf Parker
Alyssa Grosso
Thelma O’Brien, Contributing Writer Emerita

Contributing Columnists/Voices
Elayne Clift
Deborah Lee Luskin