Petitions now available for 2024 Town Election

BRATTLEBORO — Candidate petitions for Brattleboro town officers, Windham Southeast School District (WSESD) board members, and Town Meeting members are now available at the Town Clerk's office. Town elections will be Tuesday, March 5 at American Legion Post 5, 32 Linden St.

The 2024 Annual Representative Town Meeting will begin on Saturday, March 23, at 8:30 a.m., in the gymnasium of Brattleboro Union High School at 131 Fairground Rd.

All petitions must be filed with the Town Clerk's office no later than 5 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 29 for a candidate's name to be placed on the ballot.

All forms for town officers and WSESD board members must be returned with at least 30 valid signatures of registered Brattleboro voters.

Candidates for Town Meeting Member must file a nomination petition, issued by the Town Clerk's office, with at least 10 valid signatures of voters from the district where the candidate lives.

Incumbent Representative Town Meeting Members will be mailed a Notice of Intent form in early January.

Officers to be elected:

• Moderator (one year; David Gartenstein, incumbent).

• Lister (three years; Katherine N. Dowd, incumbent).

• Selectboard (three years; Ian Goodnow, incumbent).

• Selectboard (one-year seats; Peter Case and Franz Reichsman, incumbents).

• First Constable (one year; Richard H. Cooke, incumbent).

• Second Constable (one year; Gary Corey, incumbent).

• Trustee of Public Funds (three years; Deborah Zak, incumbent).

• Unified School Directors (three years; Robin Morgan and Tim Maciel, incumbents, plus one year remaining of three-year seat held by Matt Schibley).

Representative Town Meeting Members to be elected:

• District 7: 14 members for three years, six members for two years, and six members for one year.

• District 8: 16 members for three years, one member for two years, and one member for one year.

• District 9: 16 members for three years, one member for two years, and one member for one year.

The actual number of Representative Town Meeting Members to be elected is subject to change based on resignations prior to the ballot deadline.

For more information, visit or reach out to the Town Clerk's office at 802-251-8157 or [email protected].

This News item was submitted to The Commons.

Subscribe to the newsletter for weekly updates